Sound Counsel

2014-05-19 10.21.42

Recently one of my CMA (Christian Motorcyclists Association) friends and I were talking at a “bike night” a local motorcycle shop was hosting one evening. Ryann had battled cancer three years ago, a grapefruit-sized tumor having been discovered in his upper left lung. Surgery successfully removed it, along with half of his lung, and he underwent treatments and physical therapy for several months following. It was a physically punishing time for him, but he was a fairly new Christ-follower, and found the presence of God near and dear through his whole ordeal. He still goes every six months for CT scans and tests to insure it does not return.

He inquired how I’ve been doing since my bout with bladder cancer, then asked me, “Do you mind if I offer some encouragement from my own experiences?” “Absolutely,” I told him. Below is a summary of the sound counsel my friend offered.

Fear and anxiety is not uncommon. Everyone I’ve ever talked to with cancer has faced and felt it. Just remember, “Do not fear, for I am with you. Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” (Isaiah 41:10)

Rest. Often. When you feel like a million bucks, go take a little nap. When you feel down and tired, get up and do something. Above all, rest in and trust in God. He is healing you up. Give Him time.

Let people help you. Let them do things for you, give things to you. Don’t turn away generosity. People want to love on you in different ways, so let them. It blesses them as much as it blesses you. “It is more blessed to give than to receive.” (Acts 20:35)

Laugh. Often. Find a TV show that’s funny, (but clean!), watch some fun YouTube videos, enjoy laughter with folks. It really is good medicine. (Proverbs 17:22)

Trust God with your life. He loves you, knows what’s best for you, has a wonderful plan for your life- whatever it may hold. Ultimately, as God’s children, whether we live on in the body or go home to be with Him, we are good hands. “For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” (Philippians 1:21)

Sound advice, for whatever we face in life.

Leave a comment