Celebrating Freedom

July 4

Every July 4th, we Americans celebrate Independence Day, the anniversary of the signing of our Declaration of Independence. We observe the day with parades, patriotic music, cookouts, parties with family and friends, and fireworks shows, to name a few. Businesses and government agencies close down, and we enjoy a day of red, white & blue. July 4th fell on a Friday this year, so the celebrations will continue all weekend. We’ve enjoyed the time with family as well, and taken in nightly fireworks shows. Its truly a weekend of celebration.

I reflect on the freedoms we enjoy as Americans, and I’m thankful to live here, in this time and place. But on a deeper level, I’m even more thankful for a greater “Independence Day” in my own life, the day I surrendered my life to Jesus Christ. On March 25, 1979, at a conference for high school students, I confessed my sins to God and invited His Son Jesus to be my Lord and Savior. I received forgiveness, restoration, and new, eternal life in Him. And my life has never been the same. I celebrate my life in Christ every day, thankful I am His, grateful for the freedom from sin and its penalty He bought for me at the cross.

“He whom the Son sets free is free indeed.” John 8:36

 

Leave a Reply

