Mere Man

iimg_3793

Lisa and I enjoyed a weekend with her folks at their home on Lake Oconee recently. Perfect fall weather, with bright sunny days and crystal clear, starry nights. The peace autumn brings after a blazing hot, busy summer is so welcome. I don’t get much cell service there, so I feel “unplugged from the grid” as well.

Looking up at the night sky one evening, without the glare of towns, streetlights and cars, I could see deeper and more vividly than back in suburbia. The longer I lingered, the more stars were visible. An entire canopy, pinpoints of light, from one end to the other. The Milky Way was a bright band stretching across the sky, like a hazy, illuminated belt. I stood gazing up in awed silence.

Suddenly a Scripture came to mind, penned by a sheep herder who became a king-

3 When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,
4 what is man that you are mindful of him,
and the son of man that you care for him? (Psalm 8:3-4)

I wondered, like David, how the God who created the flung the stars into space, could be mindful of me. The deeper man looks into space, the more he discovers, and the greater God becomes to me. The universe is so inconceivably vast, now could the God over it all even give me a passingly thought?

img_3794

Then I was reminded of the next verse-

5 Yet you have made him a little lower than the heavenly beings,
and crowned him with glory and honor.

I find that even more astounding. He is not only mindful of me, He indeed created me, and crowned me with His own glory and honor. And He loves me with an everlasting love (Jeremiah 31:3). The God of the vast universe, of all that lives and breathes, is the God who loves us deeper than His universe is long. I’ll never fully comprehend that simple but profound truth, but I’m thankful for it, and can find rest and peace in it.

“Be still, and know that I am God.” (Psalm 46:10)

Leave a Reply

