The Autumn of My Life

Autumn in mtns

Fall is not just on the calendar, it’s in the air now. Cool days, clear skies, low humidity, gentle breezes- this is definitely my favorite time of year. Perfect riding weather, and as the leaves change, perfect scenery viewing outdoors. Autumn lifts my heart, buoys my spirit. With the chaos swirling around us in this crazy world, a step outside or a ride on one of my motorbikes breathes freshness into my soul.

I feel as though I am in the autumn of my life, as singer Bobby Goldsboro once crooned. I’m now in my mid-50s, and some days, feeling my years. My health problems of recent years (cancer 2x, spinal and knee surgeries, etc.), combined with the aches and pains of middle age, translates into a slowing down some, a pacing of myself, and a reorientation of priorities. I’m approaching that phase that my father once joked, “what I used to be able to do all day, now takes me all day to do!”

Yet I am savoring this season of my life, with less stress, less ambitious drive, and more enjoying the journey every day. Times with my wife are precious to me, I’m enjoying our girls as friends as much as family now, and I cherish every moment with my parents and Lisa’s, as they navigate the “winter” of their lives. I love the variety of activities and income means God has given me, and the dear friends in my life.

It’s a beautiful season we are in, both on the calendar and in my heart. I give thanks to God my Father, for His guidance to this place, and provision in it. He has carried me through deep waters, and now the “still waters” indeed “restores my soul.” (Psalm 23:2)

“Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” (Psalm 23:6)

Leave a Reply

