As God Sees

image

There is a gas station south of my home that I occasionally fill up or top off at, in my truck or on one of my motorcycles. Last week, I stopped in again to add a little petrol on my way home. It was a nice, sunny day, and only 1-2 cars at the station.

There is a young African-American lady who works in there, whom I’ve seen on several occasions. In modern standards of physical beauty, she would not measure up- cross eyed, large thick glasses, severe overbite, small chin, protruding ears, squeaky voice. I’ve seen and heard customers exit the store, snickering or giggling among themselves about her.

Maybe because I’m a father of two daughters, or maybe because I’m trying more to see people as God sees them, my heart went out to her this particular time as I went in to pay for my fuel. I looked her in the eye, addressed her by name, smiled, and tried to chat briefly with her while she rang up my purchase. I said something at one point to make her laugh, and when she did, she looked up at me for the first time. I thanked her, wished her a blessed day in the Lord, which she thanked me for, and I left the building.

Part of me wanted to go back in there and give her a big hug, and tell her, “You are dearly and deeply loved by the God who created you and knows you. And you are infinitely beautiful and valuable to Him.” As I rode the rest of the way home, I prayed for her- that she would come to a relationship with Christ if she hasn’t yet, and that God would wrap His loving arms around her heart today. I’m looking for the next chance to speak with her, and maybe share that myself.

There are hurting and lonely people all around us, every day, who in some way or another feel they do not measure up to the feeble and fleeting standards of society. And yet King David wrote “I praise You, oh God, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” (Psalm 139:14) We must love “not just in word, but in deed and truth” as 1 John 3:18 states.

Find someone today that you can share and demonstrate the love of God to. Ask to see people as He sees them. He will, so be ready.

2 responses to “As God Sees

  1. Spot on Rob – 100% in agreement.

    I live in South Africa and we have huge problems in this regard, at this very moment.

    I also just want to thank you for sharing, this post of your’s is the second confirmation today, regarding something the Lord has been prompting me to do. Interestingly, the first confirmation also came from the USA, from an African American lady from Detroit.

    Amazing that our Heavenly Father would use diverse people from one country (and continent) to speak to someone on the other side of the planet, on the same subject, on the same day.

    Appreciate this post immensely.

    By the way, this is the first time in probably a year that I’m reading some WP Blogs, and here’s your awesome message.

    As they say – God is good all the time, and all the time – God is good!

    Blessings, Steve Stapelberg

    • Amen Steve, it blesses me that this was a blessing to you! I appreciate your sharing all this with me. Our God works in mysterious, amazing ways. I’m living proof of that in my own life, as you can see if you read back over my posts from the past year. You are so right- God is good all the time, His ways and timing perfect.
      Blessings my brother,
      Rob

Leave a Reply

