Undeserved Blessings

cup overflows

As I reflect on this past year, I’m struck by the manifold ways God has provided for us, protected us, and blessed us immeasurably more than we could have ever imagined. And yet I remember that every time we witnessed God move on our behalf, I would offer up heart-felt gratitude and thanksgiving, followed by a declaration of how unworthy and undeserving I was. I would even pray, “Father, there are so many of my brothers and sisters in the faith in other parts of the world, with so much less than me, or suffering way more than I have these past couple of years.” All of which is true. And God has had to remind me over and over that His blessings and provision have nothing to do with deserving. “Undeserved Blessings” is really an oxymoron.

I recall when our girls, Ansley and Kelsey, were children, and the sheer joy they would experience and express when Lisa and I would give them gifts- whether for birthdays, Christmas, or just randomly. Had either ever declared, “I really don’t deserve this, I am so unworthy,” I would have instantly reacted, “Unworthy?? I love you! It has nothing to do with deserving! I want you to have this!” The joy is in the giving for Lisa and me.

This morning I read in Sarah Young’s book, “Jesus Calling”, these quotes: “My kingdom is not about earning and deserving; it’s about believing and receiving…When you receive My abundant blessings with a grateful heart, I rejoice.”

There are times of adversity in our lives, and He promises His presence and peace. And there are times of abundance in our lives, and He desires to bless with good things. All He asks is that we receive and enjoy.

“He anoints my head with oil; my cup overflows.” Psalm 23:5

Leave a Reply

