Light in Dark Places

light of Earendil

Continuing last week’s theme, there is a scene in Tolkien’s “The Fellowship of the Ring” that reminded me of a Biblical truth today. As Frodo and the fellowship prepare to leave on the journey to destroy the Ring of Power, Galadriel of the Elves gives each a gift. To Frodo, she gives the Light of Earendil, stating, “May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.” Indeed, the light not only illumines Frodo’s way on several occasions, it saves his life  and Sam’s as well.

I was reminded of the passage in Psalm 119:105 that David declares, “Your Word is a lamp to my feet, and a light to my path.” The picture here is of a lamp held out in front, illuminating the path at one’s feet so as to not stumble over something, and also casting enough light out ahead to keep one moving forward in the right direction. So many times I have found scripture in the Bible that have opened my eyes to dark places in my own heart that I was unaware of, and helped me work through them. Other times when I felt like I was in a dark, lonely place in life, unsure which way to turn, God’s Word has kept me from stumbling, and pointed me back to Christ, as my Guide. Scripture has even been given to me showing what I am to do next, as God’s Holy Spirit led me into some new direction.

God’s Word is indeed a “light in dark places”, that we can trust to illumine the way before us and encourage us, every day.

Leave a Reply

