Changes

127 Legacy

Since my previous post in May, many things have changed in my life.

About a week after I last posted, I took my final chemo treatment for bladder cancer. It has been quite a ride, these past several months. I am thankful to be finished with treatments, even though they were not nearly as bad as I anticipated. The struggle since has been dealing with fear- that every ache, pain, spasm, spot of blood, etc. could mean something else is growing or going wrong inside of me. Through a friend who endured my same cancer about 20 years ago, God reminded me of this Scripture- “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and a sound mind.” (2 Timothy 1:7)

I also recently accepted the position of executive director of 127 Legacy Foundation, a new non-profit organization dedicated to “Reaching, Rescuing, and Restoring the Orphans of Indonesia with the Love of God.” Our family physician, Dr. Ben Abraham, is the founder, and he established this foundation to raise awareness and support for a network of orphanages and children’s homes across Indonesia we hope to develop and expand. In the city of Kupang alone, there are an estimated 700+ homeless children struggling to survive on the streets. I’m honored to be helping Dr. Ben grow the foundation, and rescue as many kids as we can from a life of hopelessness, poverty, neglect and abuse. Websites, blogs, social media, publications, etc. all will be coming soon. For now, connect with us via email: 127legacyfoundation@gmail.com

We also plan on starting the next Phoenix Community of Atlanta church this summer, hopefully the 2nd weekend of July. As several locations seemed to close in recent months (and with my diagnosis, starting a church would have been rather difficult), we decided to start the old-fashioned, New Testament way- in our own home! House churches were commonplace in the book of Acts and across the Epistles, so we will follow the Biblical model as well. Who needs a building you have to pay for? We have the space, so we will begin. Details coming soon.

Lisa reminded me the other night of the passage, “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:4)Then the very next morning, that was the key verse in my daily devotional! No coincidence, that was confirmation from God. He is making the changes, preparing us for the next great adventure(s), and we must trust in Him, find our delight in Him, and His desires become our desires.

Ready for the changes,

Leave a Reply

