Practice What You Preach

preach

This weekend I learned a little “practice what you preach” lesson.

As I was preparing to ride out on one of my motorcycles to a CMA (Christian Motorcyclist Assn.) event, two young Mormon missionaries came down my driveway, literature in hand, hoping to strike up a conversation with me. My immediate response was, “Sorry guys, I’m not talking with you. No thanks.” The lead one asked, “You don’t want to talk with us about our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ?” I replied, “Not with you. So please keep walking. Thank you.” They quietly left, I finished gearing up, and rode out to meet up with my CMA friends.

As we rode on to our destination, a local Sonic Drive-In hosting a “Bike Night” where we were planning on sharing Christ with other riders, I reflected on the unexpected visit of the Mormon missionaries. I’ve talked with them before when they have come to my door, and we always have long, drawn-out conversations getting nowhere. They never convince me of their beliefs, nor I them. Yet I began to feel bad about blowing them off so quickly, almost rudely, while here I was on my way to represent Christ at a bike night, approaching people much like they had approached me.

I was reminded of the Bible passage in 1 Peter 3:15, stating, “Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have, with gentleness and respect.” I was not prepared to get into a conversation with them, nor did I really have the time. I wasn’t very gentle nor respectful. Yet I could not escape this verse, nor the mandate Paul gave in 2 Timothy 4:2, to “be ready in season and out of season”. We who know the truth, who truly know Jesus Christ, are responsible to share His good news with others- even when its not convenient, or if it makes us uncomfortable. We don’t need to have all the answers, but we can share our story, share God’s story, and allow His Spirit to speak through us.

Its easy to challenge others to share their faith. Time to practice what I preach, “in season and out of season.”

4 responses to “Practice What You Preach

  1. 2 john 1:10 says to not even bid a false teacher good day when they try to bring that mess into your house. You did the right thing. Being prepared to give an answer for your faith is more for those who have expressed an interest and are open to learn about it.

    • I hadn’t thought about that, or that verse in 1 John. Very good point. I’ve never met anyone that ever made headway with them when they come to your door. Thanks for the insight!

Leave a Reply

