The Path of Life

path-of-life

March ended on a beautiful note, and April 1 is a simply gorgeous day here in north central Georgia. I am down at my parent’s lake house in Eatonton, enjoying a peaceful morning. I am reflecting upon the recent events of my life, and what still lies ahead for me. God has given me two Scripture passages in recent days, both to encourage me and lead me forward in Him.

“You will make known to me the path of life. In Your presence there is fullness of joy. at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:11

As I read that passage and pondered it, I found myself inserting “my” right before the word “life”. God has assured me so many times over the past year that He is leading me forward, to new opportunities, new chapters, new ministry in His kingdom. If I will seek to live in His presence, there I will find my heart’s desire, a fullness of joy I can only know in Him. And one day, He will lead me home to “pleasures forevermore.” So often, we seek after those “pleasures” in this life, as if anything here can ever fully satisfy, ever give us fullness of joy. I want to walk in the path of life He lays out for me, day by day, dwell in His presence for my joy, and hold onto His right hand until He leads me home.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

So many times across the last 14 months, I have had to simply declare, “I trust you, Father” when I could not see clearly ahead. I don’t understand why He led me out of full-time vocational ministry in 2013, and what I am to do next. I don’t understand why I have found myself struggling with so many health issues in recent months, having always lived clean and strong before. And yet He continually assures me that, as Spurgeon once wrote, “When we cannot trace His hand, we must trust His heart.” My own understanding comes up short of answering the big questions, but if I will trust in God my Father, acknowledge Him (i.e. know Him personally, intimately) moment by moment, He will indeed direct my paths (i.e. make my paths straight, free of obstructions).

I find in these two passages a consistent message. My God has me, He will direct me down the path marked out for me, if I will but trust Him, know Him, and follow Him. He will open the right doors, at the right times. He promises, He will do it.

Leave a Reply

