The Wind in the Sails

clipper ship at sea

This morning in my quiet time of prayer and Bible reading, God led me to this passage-

“Trust in the LORD with all of your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all of your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

When I was a teenager and young 20-something, my pastor, Ike Reighard, once made this statement, and it has stuck with me across all the years and miles-

“When you can’t always trace God’s hand, you can always trust His heart.”

Louie Giglio has stated this on many occasions-

“God is always at work, for His glory and your good.”

I find great assurance in these truths. No matter what my life circumstances might be, if I keep my trust in my Father, He will work on my behalf, to further His kingdom in/through me, and to grow me deeper in Him.  A friend recently shared with me the analogy of a sailing ship at sea. Just as a clipper ship needs to put out on the water, sails hoisted, bow pointed toward the horizon in order to fulfill its purpose, so we must be willing to put out from the shore of our comforts, securities, and defaults. As we place our total dependence in God to lead us, we hoist the sails of faith, trusting He will point us toward His horizons, and will fill our sails with the knowledge of His will.  Don’t get stuck- neither on the shore of fear, doubt or complacency, nor in your own strengths, skills, training or expertise. Open your hands to the Father, let Him remove whatever you are holding on to, and replace them with His best for you. Trusting His heart and hands, depend on Him to direct your paths.

That’s how I want to live, every day.

One response to “The Wind in the Sails

  1. Pingback: Poetic Ship’s Sailing Departure Delayed | Two Voices, One Song·

Leave a Reply

